Soup Scoop

7 Jan

I am not a soup lover, so for my first entry to be soup-centered is not indicative of the content of future posts. My main issue with soup is an excess of broth. I want to eat my lunch, not drink it. This ‘tweak,’ a fairly easy one, is an attempt to both bulk up the food content of box soup and bolster your Vitamin A intake!

Like I said, it’s really simple. I’m almost ashamed to take any credit for it. But here goes:

VEGGED OUT NOODLE SOUP (Makes 2 Servings)

INGREDIENTS:

– 2 Raw Carrots

– 2 Celery Stalks

DIRECTIONS:       

1. Peel and slice carrots. Slice celery.

2. Bring 4 cups of water to a boil, as indicated on soup box cooking directions, but add in raw vegetables so as to cook them.

3. Add in one pouch of soup mix and follow soup box cooking directions from here on out.

CALORIES (per serving): 160

The carrots infuse a nice flavor into the soup. It’s also a scrumptious way to eat a few veggies that otherwise grow in your mouth when consumed raw. The only drawback, especially for those of us who, like me, experience unquenchable thirst just before bed and fear it may be due to hypernatremia: the soup is high in sodium. So, to keep the tweaking going, if anyone has a suggestion for how to combat this problem, comment!

2 Responses to “Soup Scoop”

  1. katie January 8, 2012 at 12:41 am #

    heather,

    love this blog – definitely adding it to my weekly reads.

    keep tweaking!
    katie

  2. heatherleighdolan January 9, 2012 at 4:32 pm #

    Thanks to bloggers who read my first post! I look forward to exploring our blogs as well and will be posting a new recipe tweak every week or so!!

Leave a Reply

