A Parfait Parley

25 Mar

My spinach-eating efforts were successful! I gave blood again on Friday morning with not a single reprimand from the nurses hinting at my borderline anemia (implying that it no longer exists). Phew. I wish I could offer another iron-dense recipe in this post, but the insanity of the last week or so has prevented me from performing any elaborate kitchen escapades. And by elaborate, I mean requiring more than opening, pouring, or mixing together. To be gentle: I had a run-in with my landlady last week, and to avoid eviction (really, I think!) quickly found another room that is being sublet to me for my remaining months in Maryland. As it turns out, a twin-sized mattress DOES fit into a Honda Fit. Although, its large presence in the car makes steering difficult, bringing my driving abilities, generously self-rated at a ‘5’ on a scale of 1 to 10, down a half-point.

Packing, then moving, then unpacking is a treacherous and exhausting process – but at least a good workout. I’ve spent the week catering to my OCD-like need for cleanliness, attempting to re-organize my things and sweep the carpet in my new room with a vacuum that prefers spreading dust and dirt over vacuuming it. So instead of cooking, I microwaved, and made quick little snacks. One of these snacks is featured below. What with the yogurt craze that seems to be going around these days, it may be something you’ve thought of already yourself. But it’s delicious, healthy, and quick to fling together, making it noteworthy in the food tweaks realm.

HOMEMADE MCDONALD’S YOGURT PARFAIT

INGREDIENTS (Makes 1 serving):

– 1 [6 oz.] Dannon Light & Fit Yogurt (choose your flavor; I recommend veering away from the more experimental flavors, such as Caramel Delight and Lemon Chiffon)

– 2 packets of McDonald’s granola packets (if, like me, your mother has an obsession with McDonald’s yogurt parfaits, minus the granola packets, which she gifts to you, and which you now have enough of that it’s worth hiding them to avoid explanation) OTHERWISE: 2 Tbs granola or granola-esque cereal (such as Raisin Bran or Honey Bunches of Oats)

– 2 Tbs. raisins

DIRECTIONS (not because I underestimate your intelligence, but for the sake of blogger consistency):

1. Spoon the yogurt into a bowl.

2. Sprinkle the granola and raisins on top.

3. Mix. Eat. Enjoy.

CALORIES (per serving): 205

The yogurt flavor I most enjoy inserted into this combination is Strawberry Banana. And I prefer granola over cereal, although perhaps I have not found the ideal cereal for mixing into yogurt? Please, tweak it up in response to this query! Or if you have any other wildly creative yogurt parfait combos that you know I’m dying to hear about, please tweak it!

Leave a Reply

