Sating Leafy Longings

23 Jan

I have had a week of feeling uninspired and excited about little to nothing. When this occurs, I get terribly depressed and begin to question the value of everything – my life, humanity. In other words, I make an excellent depressed drama queen!

Fortunately, I have been reading the autobiography (Miles Gone By) of William F. Buckley Jr., one of the greatest American Conservative voices in the second half of the 20th century. He was a man of strong convictions and a lust for life. Something I read this past week helped to raise my spirits, which, if I may, I quote here:

“It is worth everything to preserve those oddments, to make them available to those who are graced with a thirst for them: that, or – nothing is worth anything at all. Henry Regnery was never confused on this point. As long as people are free to remember, there will be those who will give thanks to those who thought, as Henry has done, with loving care to preserve the tokens of hope and truth.”

Buckley was paying tribute to the memory of Henry Regnery, the man who published Buckley’s controversial first book God and Man at Yale. My interpretation of the ‘oddments’ being referred to is any knowledge or material item that reflects, simply put, freedom. This quote resonated with me (bone-deep!) because it made me realize I have no right to be depressed. What an amazing gift to be born an American, and  how beautifully does Buckley express his praise of our nation’s values.

So, no, I did not make freedom fries this week! I was, however, able to use the Buckley-induced burst of energy to cook quite prolifically this weekend. I am featuring in this post a Southwestern-styled salad, my own recipe:

SOUTHWEST SALAD

INGREDIENTS (Makes 1 Serving – should you still have leafy longings, scale-up is easy!):

– 2 cups iceberg lettuce, chopped

– 1/2 grape tomato, diced

– 1/4 red onion, diced

– 1 Tbs. fresh or frozen corn, thawed

– 1 Tbs. pepper jack cheese, grated

– 2 oz. (1/4 cup) boneless, skinless chicken breast, sliced into thin strips

– chicken seasonings: salt, pepper, garlic salt, red pepper flakes, cumin

DIRECTIONS:

1. Toss all ingredients together except for the chicken.

2. Season the chicken: Heat skillet. Place chicken in skillet and coat with Pam. Salt and pepper chicken. Season with garlic salt, red pepper flakes, and cumin to taste. If you have to have a measurement, I recommend a tsp. of each spice. Heat until chicken is cooked through.

3. Place grilled and seasoned chicken over bed of lettuce. Fork in!

CALORIES (per serving): 190

Dressing Options I recommend:

-Ken’s Light Honey Dijon Dressing (2 Tbs. = 70 cal)

– Ken’s Light Balsamic Vinaigrette (2 Tbs. = 60 cal)

Perhaps you like a different type of cheese, or have better dressing options. So, tweak away…and read a Buckley essay or watch a clip from his show Firing Line while crunching away!

2 Responses to “Sating Leafy Longings”

  1. katie January 23, 2012 at 2:37 pm #

    Your blog makes me smile and I can’t stop. 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. When Salad Met Sandwich « Take it or Tweak It - June 10, 2012

    […] about his “larger-than-life” parents. I’ve already mentioned Mr. Buckley (see: Sating Leafy Longings), but he’s worth re-mentioning. Excepting their mutual sharp-wittedness, the Buckleys were […]

Leave a Reply

